Lander Wins NHL Job

The Edmonton Oilers made some roster decisions this afternoon, sending down several forwards. On waivers and on their way to OKC are Gilbert Brule, Josh Green, Ryan Keller and Ryan O’Marra. Brule’s difficulties this preseason, added to the worries about availability during the regular year have probably cost him dearly. An NHL team could claim him, but it is unlikely.

The club also sent Teemu Hartikainen down, as he faded just a little in the home stretch of a long training camp and preseason. The Ryan Jones contract was also a contributor.

The good news is for Lander, a young man who had to play very well in order to make the team in the same season as RNH. As was the case in 2007, the Oilers will likely break camp with two rookie centers.

It’s also good news for Lennart Petrell, who may be the only player in NHL history to make a team on the strength of a screaming performance on the PK. Here is the current depth chart.

  1. G Devan Dubnyk
  2. G Nikolai Khabibulin
  3. D Ryan Whitney (injured)
  4. D Tom Gilbert
  5. D Cam Barker
  6. D Ladislav Smid (injured)
  7. D Theo Peckham
  8. D Andy Sutton
  9. D Taylor Chorney (injured)
  10. D Jeff Petry
  11. D Corey Potter 
  12. D Taylor Fedun (injured)
  13. C Sam Gagner (injured)
  14. C Shawn Horcoff
  15. C Eric Belanger
  16. C Ryan Nugent-Hopkins
  17. C Anton Lander
  18. L Taylor Hall
  19. L Ryan Smyth
  20. L Magnus Paajarvi
  21. L Ben Eager (injured)
  22. L Darcy Hordichuk
  23. L Lennart Pettrell
  24. R Ales Hemsky
  25. R Jordan Eberle
  26. R Linus Omark
  27. R Ryan Jones

The Oilers have room for a couple of players should they IR all those listed as injured.

written by

The author didn‘t add any Information to his profile yet.
Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

© Copyright -